What are precious and semi-precious ones?

If you wish to look appealing and stand out from others in your wardrobe, then semi-precious gems are right to add ons in your jewellery. This will add a classy feel that all values. These gems can be donned in a necklace, ring, or a bracelet or earrings or how about all of them. But which one suits you? For this, we need to understand the qualities that make an excellent gemstone.

Why does one desire a gemstone?

The primary qualities of a gemstone that makes it attractive are:

  • Stone’s appearance-reflection, shine, colour, etc.
  • Hardness scale-durability, resistance to clouding and scratching.
  • Being unique

Common gemstones are desirable in both semi and precious forms.

Semi-Precious Stones

Semi-precious stones are equally durable, lovely, and rare and valued for by many. There are only four precious stones-Diamonds, ruby, emerald and sapphires. But when it comes to semi types, there are many.

The most common ones are:

  • Aquamarine
  • Topaz
  • Pearl
  • Amythest
  • Garnet
  • Alexandrite
  • Onyx
  • Opal
  • Moissanite
  • Citrine

There are many more. Almost all the birthstones fall into the semi-precious category. These stones come in plenty of sizes and shapes. They are ranging from low price to high priced ones to choose from.

Precious stones

These are exclusive gems that fall into 4 categories:

Diamonds- These are the hardest stones with a hardness scale of 10. They have high light refraction, and you can see a rainbow when it is kept under the sun. Being very rare, they are also very expensive stones in the jewellery market.

Rubies– They are deep red and very bright in appeal. They have a hardness scale of 9, making it highly durable. They look very attractive.


Sapphires are mineral forms with a hardness scale of 9, like rubies. They come in a blue hue and look shimmering and bright. They are unique and are associated with oceanic blue. It is said that you can sense the ocean heal you by wearing it.


These stones have a green hue which is rich and cannot be duplicated. Its hardness scale is 7.5 to 8. Though they have lesser durability than other gemstones, they do not see a cloud with time. They are hard to scratch and are rare. Some consider emerald to be more appealing than diamonds.

Which stones are right to choose?

When you wish to make a purchase, it is better to consider a couple of aspects before the purchase.

They are:

Budget- If you are looking for a beautiful gemstone without breaking your budget or for a little saving on money, then semi-precious ones are a good deal. They are less pricey than precious ones.

Look for more stones-If you wish to get a rich look; you might want to get a necklace, ring or a bracelet that is fitted with more stones. This will give the additional shine with an aesthetic look.

Purchase to your liking- Aquamarine is right for light blue colour lovers, while, white shiny look and appearance are unique with pearl. So, purchase a stone that is to your like.

Do not overdo it- When purchasing a semi-precious stone; keep the classy and dignified look of the jewellery. This is because the jewellery should not look overcrowded with stones or be too shiny. It should not look as if you are covering up for the precious stones.


A gemstone is made to appeal to you and others in your jewellery without breaking your budget. When you are looking for looks as good as the precious ones, then semi-precious ones are equally attractive and aesthetic. They are sure to complement your wardrobe and your beauty.

Post Author: Howard Gomez